Hello Readers,

Today you will find me surprisingly calm despite the world burning around us. It isn’t because I have accepted defeat or feel okay with the current situation, but because it is clear what my role will be in all of this.

As I listen to the cozy rhythms of Hope Sandoval + The Warm Inventions, I am reminded that I am only made up of the stress I cause myself. In other words, I can’t afford to stress myself out or panic about the state of our nation. I must remain focused if I am going to be of any help at this time. I recommend to any of you reading this right now to try and find ways to counter the chaos of the world; through music, action, reading, writing, or whatever works for you.

Personally, I have decided to become even more involved in the political process. I no longer want to remain a person who simply comments and reports the current events. I want to take more action. I guess it will help me feel like I actually have some sort of control in the direction this country takes (you know, cuz democracy). For now, that means making phone calls to the necessary people. This awesome little website called 5calls.org gives you everything you need (current actions, phone numbers, scripts, and explanations) to make your contribution to the country and I really recommend it. But I also have other plans. I want to volunteer more for organizations I believe will make a difference; I want to create some sort of teach-in for my city that will help raise the consciousness of the people living here; I want to help organize and petition and canvass and all that stuff a nasty woman like me can get done. I don’t know if everyone feels like this, but I am positive that I can make a difference once I work my way in.

If you’re in the Los Angeles area and looking to start/belong to a group that aligns to create a defense plan against Donald, do not hesitate to contact me so we can get that started. We can plan discussions, teach-ins, actions and other events to make sure people stay involved.

Remember: even if you choose to ignore what is happening around you, it will still be happening. So you might as well do something, anything, to change it!

With Love,

M. Flores

